Board of Directors

Randall E. Williams, MD

Chief Executive Officer and Director

Dr. Williams is the founding Chief Executive Officer of Pharos Innovations. He is responsible for setting the vision and overseeing the execution of Pharos’ mission to transform healthcare through patient engagement in self-care. He has 16 years of executive experience developing chronic care monitoring programs.

Dr. Williams graduated with honors from the Johns Hopkins School of Medicine. He trained in internal medicine at the University of Minnesota, where he also served as chief resident. Dr. Williams specialized in cardiology at the Johns Hopkins Hospital, with an emphasis on the care of congestive heart failure and cardiac transplantation. In 1995, Dr. Williams was recruited to Northwestern University in Chicago to develop their congestive heart failure program. There he created and developed one of the nation’s first and most successful chronic care programs. He served as Chairman of Care Management for the IPA overseeing the development of the group’s care management department, with responsibility for over 120,000 at-risk lives. Currently, he serves on the Executive Committee of the Board for the Care Continuum Alliance, where he chairs the Governmental Affairs Committee. He is an author and frequent speaker on topics related to population health, physician leadership, and healthcare transformation.

Dennis Sweeney

Chairman and Director

Dennis Sweeney has served as Chairman of the Board and Director of Pharos Innovation since 2004. Mr. Sweeney received his AB in Economics from Princeton University and his MBA, with distinction, from the Harvard Business School.

Mr. Sweeney was a generalist senior partner at McKinsey & Company, Inc., with recent work focusing in the high tech and electronic commerce sectors. Virtually all his work is at the CEO level and working directly with Boards of Directors. His expertise is in corporate and business unit strategy, shareholder value maximization, CEO and top management team counseling and agenda development, as well as multiple operations and sales functional areas. Mr. Sweeney has done substantial work in the high tech, healthcare and energy industries. He received the Meritorious Service Medal for superior contribution and impact while serving in the United States Army. Some of his accomplishments in the military include Field Artillery Officer Basic School; Airborne School; Ranger School; 1st Battalion, 94th Field Artillery; 1st Armored Division, Furth, Germany – Firing Battery Executive Officer; Nuclear Weapons Officer.

Edward McC. Blair, Jr.


Ed Blair, Jr. has been a director of Pharos Innovations since 2004. He received his AB from Stanford University and an MBA from the Harvard Business School. Mr. Blair joined William Blair & Company, L.L.C., in 1974 where he is currently a senior healthcare banker.

Mr. Blair was a director of Research Medical, Inc., until it was sold to Baxter International, Inc., and was a director of Interleukin Genetics until a private company purchased control. He is a General Partner of Crabtree Ventures, LLC, a venture capital company focusing on the application of mathematics to business issues. Mr. Blair is currently on the Board of Trustees for The George M. Pullman Educational Foundation. He is also a chairman emeritus of the Chicago Zoological Society (Brookfield Zoo).

Dennis Drislane


Dennis Drislane has been a director of Pharos Innovations since 2004. He received a BS in Business Administration from California State University, and a Master of Science degree in Management Information Systems also from California State University.

In a career that spanned 24 years, Mr. Drislane held a number of executive positions at Electronic Data Systems, including president of the healthcare strategic business unit. He left EDS in 1997 to join Healtheon as an officer during the start-up phase and went through a successful initial public offering in 1999 following a merger with WebMD. Mr. Drislane sits on the boards of several private healthcare companies, and is a partner at BelHealth Investment Partners, a private equity firm focused on healthcare.

Mary Langowski


Mary Langowski is Executive Vice President for Strategy, Policy and Market Development for CVS Health. In this role, she leads the team responsible for navigating complex and dynamic policies, regulations and market trends as CVS Health identifies and expands opportunities in new markets to drive growth.

Langowski has a track record of helping clients translate nuanced public policy into actionable business strategy. She has a deep understanding of the political landscape, and expertise in analyzing and shaping health care policy at every level of government.

Prior to joining CVS Health, Langowski was with the international law firm DLA Piper where she served as the chair of their Health Care Policy and Regulatory Practice and as the co-chair of their Food and Beverage Sector. Prior to that, she served in senior positions at Alston & Bird and Sonnenschein, Nath & Rosenthal where she provided strategic counsel to clients with a special focus on health care. In addition to her private sector experience, Langowski served as a senior health care policy advisor for U.S. Senator Tom Harkin and was the chief policy advisor at the Iowa Department of Public Health under Governor Tom Vilsack.

She earned a B.A. and M.P.A from Drake University and a J.D. from the University of Iowa College of Law.

James Vogler


James Vogler joined the Pharos Innovations Board of Directors in 2015. He is an attorney in Chicago, Illinois, and serves on the management committee in his 100-attorney firm. Mr. Vogler is a senior member of the firm’s litigation group and its intellectual property group.

Throughout his career, Mr. Vogler has served on numerous public and private company boards, including: Rhythm Therapeutics, Inc.; U.S. Laboratories, Inc.; Rise International; Children’s Heart Foundation; Williams Heart Foundation; and The Chicago Foundation.

He received his BA, magna cum laude, from Harvard University and his JD, cum laude, from Southern Illinois University.

adminBoard of Directors